Timothy – Royal Vampires book 2 – excerpt

“I’ve seen you in church. You’re a Christian and I will accept your word.” I paused to think about how I was going to tell him. I decided the best thing was to blurt it out. “Paul is a vampire and he’s not dead.”

There, I’d said it. I watched his reaction carefully. The veins in his neck throbbed noticeably as he absorbed my shocking revelation.

“Your Majesty, but the accident—”

“Was fatal for some. Paul survived it because he and his minions staged the crash. There was a bomb in the vehicle. Before it was detonated, Paul got out of the limousine. He’s alive and roaming the streets and forests, but no one will recognize him. He has changed his appearance through plastic surgery.”

“Your Majesty, vampires aren’t real. There are tales, legends, but—”

“Believe me when I say they’re real. This is the big secret that killed Derek and anyone else involved in the cloning project Paul ordered twenty-four years ago.” I started to talk and told Hans everything I knew.

“Your Majesty, I’m dumbfounded. You’re telling me that you’re a vampire, too?”

“Yes. But I don’t kill or crave blood. I would like you to continue Derek’s research. We need a cure at least for the blood thirst and killer instinct, and we need a cure or antidote for the werewolf virus.”

“Werewolves? Your Majesty, I don’t want to sound disrespectful, but that’s also a myth.”

“No, it’s not. Do your research and find out how many unexplained deaths, or I should say murders, there have been over the years. I want Silverwarren Island swept clean of all evil. The only way to do that is to find a cure.”

“You’re serious.”

For the first time he’d forgotten the royal way of addressing me, and it felt good. “Yeah, you’re damn right I’m serious. And now, if you still don’t believe me, I’ll prove something to you.” I stood up and went into vamp mode. I watched his face, the disbelief changing to fear, then to admiration when I stood silently. I knew my eyes had changed and my fangs descended. I changed back to my human self and sat again. I couldn’t really show him much else right now, not inside my quarters.